How to Make Farmers Swoon

1. Bake cinnamon jam donut muffins.

2. Walk to farmer’s market midway through.

3. Play muffin fairy.

I found this recipe and these pictures about a year ago from Tara’s blog, “Should you eat that?“, but I didn’t get around to making them for a while. The first time I did, I loved them, but I used super-thick raspberry preserves. Not a good plan, folks. It was good, but the the filling sank to the bottom and made the whole thing soggy. Try two, I used homemade (not by me) strawberry rhubarb preserves that were on the thin side– and it worked perfectly! So, word to the wise, if your condiment filling of choice is thick or even standard, do yourself a favor and thin it extra before filling.

I bake a lot for the farmers at the market… and have had a lot of success. But when two months later, people still come up to you and say “those are the best muffins I’ve ever had”… well, you know you have to share the recipe.

Enjoy, folks!

Cinnamon Jam Donut Muffins

  • 2 Cups self raising flour
  • 1/2 Cup brown sugar
  • 60g unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 Cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 Cup raspberry jam (or your favourite flavor)
  • 2 Tbsp caster sugar
  • 3 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted, extra
  • 1/3 Cups caster sugar, extra
  • 3 tsp ground cinnamon


Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and spray a muffin tray with oil.
  2. Sift together self raising flour & brown sugar. In another bowl mix together butter, eggs & buttermilk. Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the wet ingredients, mix until just combined (don’t overmix).
  3. Microwave jam along with caster sugar for about 45 seconds, or until jam has melted and sugar is dissolved, mix thoroughly.
  4. Half fill muffin holes with muffin mixture and add a little bit of jam before filling up with more muffin mixture. Cook for 8 minutes in oven, until a skewer comes out clean.
  5. Melt extra butter and mix together extra caster sugar & cinnamon in another bowl. One by one, brush each muffin all over with butter and roll in cinnamon sugar mixture.
12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “How to Make Farmers Swoon

  1. Something’s wrong here. I’m not a farmer and I’m swooning ;))
    Those look excellent.

  2. What a GREAT idea! And so here it is, 6am and I’m wondering what I can make without eggs, hardly any sugar and … surely there’s something. Inspired, for sure, thank you!

  3. Tanna: Aww, thanks for stopping by! They are fabulous, and, like everything, benefit so much from not being shown in my pictures!

    Alanna: So nice to hear from my Veggie Idol– let me know how it goes! (But 6 am? Yikes! That’s a time I know from… well, when I’m still up.)

  4. Wow, my muffins are at farmers markets? hehe… I’m glad you (& the farmers) like them! Seeing this makes me want to whip up a batch again now…

  5. oh my goodness, is there a medicine to stop me from drooling!!!! pleeeeeeeeeeease!!

  6. these are sooo tempting!

  7. those look delicious! what exactly is caster sugar?

  8. Dear lonely lonely blog,

    Even though you have been abandoned, I still love you and look forward to the day when you will once again be filled with tasty tasty recipes. Hang in there.

    Loooove,
    Amanda

  9. Caster sugar is a really fine white sugar, you might call it superfine sugar where you live Jen?

  10. Great Recipe. Those look delicious :)

  11. oogikuzirkus

    I love cinnamon very much!! And this look so good:) Im gogging to try out this week! Yum Hope mine will turn out good too heehee

  12. Nina

    Distributing muffins to the folks at the Farmer’s Markets? You are definitely a good fairy! What prompted such largesse?

Leave a Reply

