An Apple a Week- Week 1

Until I went to high school in New England, I hated apples– they tasted like mildly sweetened sawdust: red delicious sawdust, yellow delicious sawdust– and for a treat, occasionally mcintosh wax and granny smith was, which had slightly more flavor but were still predominately waxy and sawdusty. The apples we picked in New Hampshire were different: some sweet, some sour, some flowery; all *actually* delicious… so, when Brooklyn Bachelor asked me what type of apples I had put in my apple pie (Jonagold), I was inspired to try one new type of apple each week until apple season was over or I couldn’t find any new recipes. I’m going to try to post a new type each Sunday– if you have an apple recipe post you want linked, or want to challenge yourself along with me, please let me know!

Image Courtesy of FreshDirect

Image Courtesy of FreshDirect

This week, rather prosaically, I am going to start with McIntosh apples. McIntoshes are early season apples and don’t store well, so if you’re a fan, now’s the time to get them. The ones I sampled this week came via the local section at FreshDirect from Red Jacket Orchards in Geneva, NY. They tasted as if they had just barely been waxed, but I’m not sure if they actually were. They were beautiful, deep red skins streaked with bright yellow green in their characteristic fashion which contrasts nicely with their pure pale insides– they’re certainly one of the more beautiful apples. The skin was crispy (in a good way), and the inside was sweet and tangy and floral, all at the same time. They’re great for eating out of hand, but I also like them in applesauce. I’ve had less then great success cooking them in oatmeal– they’re definitely “bright” flavored rather than “rich/ autumnal” flavored in my book, and when they cook, they don’t mellow as much as some other types.

3 Comments

Filed under An Apple a Week, fruit, vegetarian, veggies

3 responses to “An Apple a Week- Week 1

  1. Hunt down the Newton pipin, the colonial variety born in what’s now Queens. The supplier shows up on I think Tuesdays at the farmer’s market at 2st Ave & E. 47th; also at Union Square, not sure which day.

    In the Botany of Desire, Pollan tells the apple’s story and it is absolutely fascinating.
    Here’s a taste. http://www.michaelpollan.com/press.php?id=15

  2. If you’re still able to find plums at your farmer’s market, try our ginger-plum applesauce

  3. I LOVE the idea of the applechat :) and obviously need it as WHO KNEW mac’s didnt store well (seriously, I didnt…)

Leave a Reply

