Health Food

(Or, what I eat when I’m sick.)

Plate

Stuffed butternut squash and garlic kale. Isn’t that what you eat when you’re sick and there’s no soup in the house?

Well, maybe not. But this was fabulous. I’m sick, gross-sick, and I don’t want the roomie to get sick (cause then who’ll take care of me?), so I needed to make something so very healthy that the sick germs would take one look at her and run. As I subscribe to the colorful plate theory of nutrition, I pulled out the brightest things in my cabinets/ pantry, and tried to make them work together. I decided that kale and butternut squash didn’t go together well enough to be cooked together, which left me butternut squash and my newest impulse purchase, black “forbidden” rice.

This rice? It’s fabulous. I’m not entirely sure that it counts as rice, really, in terms of taste– it’s very nutty and firm, more so than brown rice. Of course, this makes it perfect for stuffing something soft and sweet, for more contrast. I was inspired towards the end (interestingly, after the addition of feta), to make this almost Moroccan style, with raisins, cinnamon, and almonds. Of course, then it needed Parmesan before baking, which made this even more of a cultural hodge-podge. Nevertheless, it’s something I could taste even with the gross, and the roomie kept saying “wow, it’s so good” from the other side of the quarantine-box.

Here’s how:

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Slice 2 small butternut squash in half. Remove seeds and fiber, then place, cut side up, on a baking sheet and cover it with foil, placing it in your oven. (Total cook time: ~ 1hr)

Meanwhile, sautee 1/2 an onion and 1/4 cup parsley in olive oil for about 5 minutes, until onion is transluscent. Add salt, pepper, 1 cup black “forbidden” rice, and 2 cups vegetable stock (or water.) Bring to a boil, then simmer, covered, approximately 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, sautee 1 thinly sliced carrot in olive oil . Add garlic (I like lots, you may not), 1/4 cup of corn (I used frozen) and 10 brussel sprouts (sliced thinly), until brussel sprout “wilts.” Let cool 5 minutes, then add salt and pepper to taste, a healthy squirt of lemon juice, half a pack (40z?) of feta, 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/4 cup of raisins, and 1/4 cup of slivered almonds ( I like mine toasted first). Mix together.

When rice is done, take squash out of oven and spoon out most of the flesh, so that you have a hollow bowl-like shell with about 1/2″ of flesh left in. Put the shells back in the oven, cut the squash pieces up into small chunks, and mix together with the rice. Let sit for 5 minutes, then mix in the vegetable-cheese mixture. Stuff the squash shells with the stuffing (as pictured below), sprinkle the top with parm, and bake another 10 minutes.

Serve hot. Enjoy.

squash

Of course, I couldn’t make something so brightly colored, on a Tuesday no less, and not submit it for Sweetnicks’ ARF-5 A Day blogging event. Thanks Cate! Check out the other healthy entries here.

3 Comments

Filed under cheese, greens, Uncategorized, veggies

3 responses to “Health Food

  1. Love kale – sounds delicious!

  2. weird coincidence – i’ve just posted a recipe for butternut squash stuffed with black rice too! i hope you’re feeling better.

  3. Pingback: ARF/5-A-Day #63 | Food & Life

Leave a Reply

