Mmmm. Pasta.

I had not one, not two, but three! pasta recipes to choose from this week for Presto Pasta Night. However, I chose the one that looks like worms, because it was the most fun.

worms

Just in case you thought I was kidding. Of course, the pasta did not look like worms in the package. In fact, it was a brilliant purply red. Any guesses?

It’s roasted-garlic beet pasta from the Dupont Circle freshmarket. And, while I was at the farmers market, I picked up kale and herbed goat cheese to go with it.

No real recipe, for the sauce, just sauteed some garlic and oil, added slivered kale, and dumped in some cheese and milk. But beet pasta? Once you get past the color, it’s fantabulous; rich, flavorful, slightly softer than al dente, and you can feel yourself getting healthier as you eat (um, yes, still a little bit of a priority. Whoops. )

Next time I might try it with a simpler sauce, it’s that good. I’m still kicking myself for not saving the bright red pasta water for risotto.

2 Comments

Filed under greens, pasta, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Mmmm. Pasta.

  1. Tanya, it doesn’t look like worms and the pasta itself sounds awesome. Thanks for sharing with the rest of us and sending it in to Presto Pasta Nights.

  2. Joe

    I wonder if I can find anything like that pasta around here, it sounds tasty!

Leave a Reply

