Baseball Cakes

Some of you may know that my beau’s favorite sport is baseball. In fact, he’s a diehard Yankees fan (which I can tolerate only because I’m only a moderate Red Sox fan)– so, several months ago, I made these scrumptious cupcakes to celebrate the world series with him.

cupcake1.jpg

I just can’t say enough good things about these; the cakes were moist and chocolate-y, while the cream cheese frosting was rich, tart. and super-smooth. Plus, the red piped frosting did a pretty credible job of turning the cupcake into a baseball. These were an all-around hit. In fact, I liked them so much that I haven’t used another recipe for chocolate cake since. Of course, it makes sense, as the original recipe comes from Orangette’s lovely blog. For once, I resisted the urge to mess with it, and I was so glad, as it turned out perfectly.

I topped the cakes with a fairly generic cream cheese frosting and let the frosting harden for 20 minutes or so in the fridge before piping on the lines with the storebought tube (yeah, not perfect– but I just don’t have the patience for such small things otherwise.)

Making cupcakes like this is fun and rewarding, but even if you’re not a sports or cream cheese fan, try the cake recipe.  It’s just that good.

10-08-07_2226.jpg

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Baseball Cakes

  1. sugarplumsweets

    Cute, cute, cute. Yay for baseball cupcakes!

    I like your new blog layout.

  2. K

    Those are super cute, not to mention really sweet of you to do for him! Awww… 😀

  3. my hubby is more of a football fanatic..but im sure he wont say no to these baseball cupcakes 🙂 love ’em dear …

  4. Hi Tanya,
    Wow those are great. I’m with Dhanggit, hubby is waaay more into football, but there’s inspiration here.
    The Canon SD1000 is around $150 and is highly recommended by a friend of ours. I have the SD450 and have broken the battery/memory card door off of mine. Apparently, they haven’t fixed this, so if you’re a little rough with things as I am, it might not be the best option. But the images have been pretty good.
    Jane of Vegan Bits

  5. These are really niffty! Sometimes I have to kick myself too: store bought is great, especially for that kind of little touch.

  6. These look so lovely! How cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

