Restaurant Week DC- Corduroy

Most of you probably know that this is Restaurant Week in Washington, DC. Fewer of you know that I went to Corduroy last night… but I did, and it was a great experience. I wasn’t able to take pictures of the food (my camera! that i ordered! is backordered and hasn’t showed up, and I don’t know how often I’ll feel comfortable dragging it out at restaurants.)

Corduroy is famous for having their full menu available on their restaurant week menu, which was fabulous as I’m not a seafood lover, and they do have a seafood focus. Which means that while I didn’t try the delicious-looking dish pictured below (picture from their website), I did see it coming out to other tables… and it looked really good!

corduroy1.jpg

I would be remiss if I didn’t first praise the bread. Perfect sourdough, crispy on the outside and soft on the inside, and with a very pronounced sour taste.  Good enough to make me not mind that it wasn’t warmed– luckily the butter was (at least the first go-round)– cold butter that won’t spread correctly is one of my pet peeves, especially at nice restaurant. The service all around was impressive– I could really tell the difference between the professional servers they hired and the college students who serve at most restaurants. It was a nice touch, especially given how swamped and exhausted they must have been by the end of restaurant week.

For appetizer, I had a duck-egg salad. The duck-egg itself was soft-boiled perfectly, and seemed like it was perfectly prepared, but also tasted… well, just like a chicken egg. Not that that’s a bad thing, I like chicken eggs– but I expected there to be a bigger difference. The salad had really yummy mushrooms and duck chunks in it, and generally I enjoyed it, but found the sauce to be too salty. This was unfortunate, given that the chicken I ordered came with the same sauce. D’oh! Would have been nice to be warned about that when I ordered. The baby chicken I ordered was also good, tender and flavorful– but the greens I was s’pposed to eat it on were too salty to eat because of the mushroom sauce.

The boy had better luck with his orders– he had a lobster appetizer, which he liked but I didn’t try, and lamb with ravioli which… was delicious! I had serious ordering regrets– it was my first choice, and I didn’t want to order the same thing for the sake of variety– but the lamb was tender and rich, the ravioli savory and cheesy, and all around fabulous.

The dessert was definitely the highlight for me. I ordered the chocolate-hazelnut “kit kat”, which tasted like cruncy nutella (sweeter than I would have made it, but the taste and textures were exquisite. Definitely something I’d go back for even  without restaurant week prices.) The boy ordered tarte tatin, which was infinitely better than the one I made earlier this year. It was served with chocolate ice cream, which was good, but didn’t pair well for me. The caramel was definitely the best part of the tarte tatin, and I almost wished the apples weren’t there to get in the way.

All in all a good value and a nice dinner. Now, if only I had a camera and wasn’t backlogged two posts!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Restaurant Week DC- Corduroy

  1. Hope you get your new camera soon! I’m looking into a new one, too.
    Your meal just sounds fabulous (especially dessert). I don’t think I’ve ever eaten that well.

    I might look into buying quinoa online. There’s another grocery store I’m going to check out, first.

  2. Hey- what kind of camera did you buy? I’ve been looking on Amazon, and there are too many to choose from. Many of them are expensive! I had no idea.

  3. I wound up buying a Mustek MDC830Z; I haven’t gotten it yet, so I don’t know how I’m going to like it, but for some reason I got a really great deal on it ($102.70 for a new one), so I doubt I’ll be complaining too much.
    Good luck, let me know what you decide!

  4. houndstooth1

    I’m seriously thinking about going to Corduroy this week since they’re extending RW and of course will close down for a while until they move.

Leave a Reply

