Not so special dinner

I tried, I did. I wanted to make a special Sunday night dinner, the kind that Jewish grandmothers dream of. I made roasted cornish hens and rice pilaf, enhanced with roasted vegetables and plenty of garlic. It was all fine, but the salad– my basic, beloved salad, that I somehow haven’t blogged about, stole the show.

You see, for a long time, even though I loved veggies, I hated salad. Couldn’t stand it.

09-09-07_0050.jpg

You see, for a long time, I hated salad. Hated it. Loved veggies, hated salad… and then I realized that it wasn’t salad I hated. It was lettuce (I’ve since found varieties I like), croutons, processed cheese, and most salad dressings. So I started making salads with other vegetables as the base, cucumbers being my favorite. The only consistent thing about this salad is large amounts of cucumber, onion (red or sweet), vinegar, salt, and pepper. Sometimes I add lemon juice, feta, mozzarella, tomato, basil, dill, small chunks of red pepper, and even raw garlic. Key to know, though, is that this salad needs to sit a few hours at least– the longer, the better. Think refrigerator pickles.

Hope you love this as much as I do.

4 Comments

Filed under greens, pepper, vegetarian, veggies

4 responses to “Not so special dinner

  1. That does look like a good dinner. Who knew that a salad would steal the show?
    Don’t hate me, but I think I love salad in any form. Yours sounds even better than a lettuce salad. I definitely am not a fan of iceberg. Romaine is a little boring, too. Arugula and mixed greens is where it’s at.

  2. Looks like an amazing dinner! I do love salad, but I’m not a big fan of the bottled dressings. They are easy to make at home and so much better!

  3. K

    Yum! Sounds like you’d enjoy fatoush, too (although I leave the pita bread out of mine…). You should give it a try some time!

  4. big kisses from my kitchen and a warmest message of love, happy valentine’s day!!

    ps, im like you i LOVE cucumber too!!

Leave a Reply

