Chocolate-Hazelnut Yummyness

The beau came home from Union Station and asked for my next baking projects to be cookie cups. “Cookie cups?” I asked…. Apparently, I was missing out. Unbelievably, there was a class of dessert I had never heard of. “Cookie cups!” he said. Apparently, it consists of chocolate chip cookie dough baked in a cupcake tin and frosted with “buttercream” and topped with M&M’s or sprinkles.

Well, ummmmm. Yuck! I couldn’t deal with that. I’m a fan of chocolate chip cookies, but not gussied up with fake frosting and sprinkles. So, I modified it…

prettyful.jpg
(Say hellooooo to the new camera!)

Instead, I made chocolate-hazelnut mini cookie cups, frosted with melted chocolate and sprinkled with toasted hazelnut– with a bonus hazelnut surprise center. Yum! They were gooey and crunchy on top, moist on the inside, crispy on the outside, and had a hazelnut to break it up just as you start to feel like it tastes homogeneous. Made with dark chocolate or cocoa, they’re delightfully sophisticated… but there’s no reason why you couldn’t lighten it up or change the nuts– or add Frangelico- to change the tone.

As a side note, I would’ve used nutella if I’d had, but I’m almost glad I didn’t. Hopefully someone will try it both ways and compare sometime. If you do, let me know.

Recipe

  • 1 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup ground toasted hazelnuts
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup cocoa
  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, stir before measuring
  • 1 cup whole hazelnuts, toasted
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped toasted hazelnuts and melted chocolate or nutella for frosting

In a bowl, sift together flour, sugar and cocoa. In another bowl, cream butter, then gradually blend in dry ingredients and ground nuts. Chill for half an hour, then form into 1″ balls around whole hazelnuts. Press cookies into mini cupcake tins and bake at 300 degrees F for 20 minutes (if you overbake, they won’t be moist anymore. They should be starting to crack at the top.)  Spread on melted chocolate or nutella and sprinkle with chopped hazelnuts.  Let the cookies set for half an hour, or until slightly less gooey. Enjoy, preferably with milk.  Ship remaining cookies to me. 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under chocolate, Cookies, dessert, Uncategorized, vegetarian

6 responses to “Chocolate-Hazelnut Yummyness

  1. More decadent desserts! I was blissfully unaware of cookie cups a few minutes ago.
    And it would be so easy to veganize this one.
    (Just don’t look!)
    Jane of VeganBits.com

  2. Hello new camera!

    I think it’s funny that your husband knows what cookie cups are. Does he read Pillsbury or Betty Crocker recipe booklets?

    You cookie cups are much better.

  3. Came over to check out all the delights…and I must say…er, well…delightful!!

    I like the path you’re on…

    Peace and Carrots…

  4. oh sinfully delicious!! chocolate and hazelnut combination is perfect!! reminds me of my fave nutella 🙂

  5. K

    Oh, wow. I can’t wait to try this recipe out! And dhanggit is right: nutella was the first thing that sprang to mind for me, too. 🙂 Delicious stuff.

  6. parsnipsaplenty

    Hi Tanya, thanks for checking out my blog! I’m earmarking this cookie cup phenomenon and will be making some soon. Super excited, too, to see your sex-positive feminism links! Rock it.

Leave a Reply

