Oops! Blogging by Mail!

I know, I know, just as I was getting good about posting regularly, I disappeared. I apologize! The thing is that, well, I’m officially looking for a new job… but I’m still working at my old one. Thinking about moving, too. And– well, I have some exciting news! I’m going to New Orleans next week, and to Sudan for two weeks after that to do some professionally-relevant volunteer work. Plus, a fellowship application came up, and really, I’ve been swamped. I’m so sad that I missed last month’s Daring Bakers challenge, and I’m nervous that I won’t be able to post this month’s on time, as I will be in Sudan. The plan is to make it and write the post tomorrow– and either post it from afar if there’s internet, or have someone post it for me; I hope it works out that way. Either way, I beg your forgiveness for my extended past and coming absence.

coolpackage.jpg

I’ll admit it– I haven’t even been cooking, lately. Just throwing things together and ordering takeout. Luckily, Karen of the blog Bucaio took the time to send me an enormous package of Filipino snack foods, just the thing to carry me through a long few weeks. I’m even tempted to say, given the emphasis on dried fruit, that it had some nutrients! Just what the doctor ordered. I’m even more impressed that Karen took the time to put together such a thoughtful package– carefully avoiding the sometimes omnipresent mangoes that I’m sadly allergic to– given that at the time, she was very pregnant with her just-born third child! Congratulations, Karen! (I can only hope that some day when I’m pregnant, I have a millionth the grace she has.)

tableful.jpg

Now, on to the specific goodies. I haven’t got close-ups of all of them, but these are some of my favorites.

 

blackmelon.jpg

Black-melon seeds. I think this must be very similar to watermelon.

drinks.jpg

Lots of yummy beverages.

tamarind.jpg

Dried tamarind. I’ve never seen it here, but I’ll be looking for it– delicious and tangy-sweet.

churros.jpg

Chocolate churros mix… I haven’t tried it yet, but am excited to. What a special treat!

pastillas.jpg

Pastillas… very sweet milky candies.

And, finally, the piece that will grace my kitchen for years:

utensils.jpg

How gorgeous is this salad set? Somehow, Karen knew that I’m a sucker for beautiful wood.

manila.jpg

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Oops! Blogging by Mail!

  1. Wow! Thanks a seriously loving care package! How nice! You have enough goodies there to last you months! ๐Ÿ™‚
    We send out spices…you wanna trade? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What a pal! I have a mango allergy too and am forever excitedly picking out snacks at the Indian grocery and then realizing they have trace amounts of mango powder. So comforting to know there’s someone else out there with the same weird-ass food restriction!

  3. wait, pomelo flavored tang? i didn’t know they even still made tang…

  4. Yes, they still make Tang in the Philippines, and they’re making brisk sales, after all these years. Now on my side of the globe I didn’t know Tang has ceased to exist elsewhere. The pomelo flavor is very popular, because of the tropical touch as well as it was promoted as a good mix for cocktails (gin pomelo).

    I actually used to send out mangoes in various forms, the fruit being my absolute favorite – good thing there were other substitute fruits.

    Have a good trip to Sudan, and good luck on the job-hunting!

  5. Interesting package! Can’t wait for mine to arrive ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Hi! We missed your Daring Baker’s post this month! Just wanted you to know that a group of DBer’s are getting together once a month and that you are invited. We bake in our own homes and email each other as we are baking (and we are all alternative bakers, meaning we have to use alternative ingredients such as no wheat, vegan, vegetarian, or baker’s who have allergies.) Please email me if you are interested!

    Sincerely,
    Carrie @ Ginger Lemon Girl

Leave a Reply

