Birthday Gift

My beau gave me a lovely surprise last night. I got home to six lovely long-stemmed red roses on the table, and a chilled glass of white wine. He then took me to the restaurant we went to my first night in DC, the day we came to look for my first apartment after finding that I got into Georgetown, Old Ebbit Grill. We had a lovely dinner (roast chicken, mashed potato, and green beans– the basics, but the basics done right), followed up with a classic creme brulee, with “Happy Birthday” written on the plate in chocolate ganache, and a candle inside– but no singing, as requested. Perfect! And then, for the surprise…

strawberries

He took me for a drive– to a movie, I thought– but instead, the car pulled into the parking lot of the Ritz Carlton in Pentagon City, where he had a swimsuit and a change of clothes waiting. And, as a final surprise, his brother (who’s a manager at another Ritz) sent me these gorgeous chocolate covered strawberries.

strawberry

They were gorgeous, sweet, fruity, and– best of all– served on sugar pebbles. How beautiful is that presentation? I, of course, had to be geeky and take pictures on my cell phone to mark the occasion. I’m still not entirely clear on how they got the gold plate in, but I sure felt spoiled! And just in the nick of time. I know I’ve been traveling a lot lately, but I really needed a relaxing break… and this was it. I’m much cheerier and more motivated now, ready to enter my 24th year– one sweet treat at a time. And, not to wreck the surprise, but my Daring Bakers challenge will be served at my birthday dinner tonight. Can’t wait to post that!

3 Comments

Filed under dessert, Other Interests, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Birthday Gift

  1. What a great way to have a birthday!

  2. Sounds like a wonderful birthday! Happy birthday! 🙂

  3. Nicely done, Mr. Beau!

Leave a Reply

